Maryland Farm Bureau Convenes 108th Annual Convention; Elects New President

Maryland Farm Bureau Convenes 108th Annual Convention; Elects New President

CAMBRIDGE, MD. – The Maryland Farm Bureau (MDFB) convened in Cambridge, Maryland, for their 108th Annual Convention and Meeting of Delegates, during which new organizational leadership was elected. James (Jamie) Raley of St. Mary’s County was elected to a two-year term as President. Raley owns his family farm in Avenue, where they produce grain, hay, and cattle. Previously, Raley had a long career in law enforcement, serving 21 years as a member of the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office. Raley begins his tenure as President after serving as 1st Vice President of the organization and as the former President of St. Mary’s County Farm Bureau.

Newly Elected Maryland Farm Bureau Leaders (L to R): 1st Vice President Jonathan Quinn, President Jamie Raley, and 2nd Vice President Jo-Ann Chason

“I am honored to have the support and confidence of Maryland farmers in my role as President of the Maryland Farm Bureau,” said President Raley. “Working in tandem with our grassroots members, I am confident that we can achieve victories on behalf of our state’s vibrant and diverse agricultural industry.”

Joining Raley in leadership roles are Jonathan Quinn of Kent County as 1st Vice President and Jo-Ann Chason of Baltimore County as 2nd Vice President, both serving one-year terms. The election of these officers took place with the participation of delegates from Maryland’s 23 county farm bureaus, along with representatives from MDFB’s partner organizations.

Bill Edwards of Dorchester County Receives the Distinguished Service to Farm Bureau Award from former MDFB President Wayne Stafford

In addition to the elections, the convention recognized several MDFB members for their outstanding contributions to Maryland agriculture. Bill Edwards from Dorchester County received the Distinguished Service to the Farm Bureau Award, Sandy Cross from Prince George’s County was named the 2023 Agri-Woman of the Year, and the Burrier Family Farm in Frederick County was honored with the Sand County Foundation Leopold Conservation Award.

Secretary of the Maryland Department of Agriculture Kevin Atticks Addresses MDFB’s Convention

Earlier in the convention, members had the opportunity to hear updates from key figures in Maryland agriculture. Secretary of the Maryland Department of Agriculture (MDA), Kevin Atticks, provided insights into MDA’s accomplishments over the past year, while the University of Maryland’s Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Dr. Craig Beyrouty, addressed the attendees on the college’s recent undertakings. Members also debated several topics, including agricultural education, solar siting, and wildlife management in relation to MDFB’s upcoming 2024 Policy Book.

As the 108th MDFB Annual Convention concludes, the newly elected leadership and honored members stand poised to contribute to the continued success and growth of Maryland’s agricultural community. The commitment and dedication exhibited at this convention reaffirm the strength and resilience of the Maryland Farm Bureau, as well as agriculture in Maryland.


Share This Article
Translate »