Maryland Farm Bureau Awards $10,000 in Scholarships

March 30, 2020 – Maryland Farm Bureau announced today the winners of the 2020 Maryland Farm Bureau scholarships, each valued at $2,000. The scholarships were awarded to: Sophie Chance of Annapolis, Ryan Ross of Lothian, Courtney Schrader of Earleville, Allison Stoner of Taneytown, and Lynne Thomas of Fallston.

Applicants were required to write an essay answering the following question: Products like cell-based food products have demonstrated the food system is rapidly changing. How can future food technologies and related products be beneficially integrated into modern agricultural production without hampering the success of traditional products and the farmers and ranchers who grow them?

Recipients or their parents/guardians are members of Maryland Farm Bureau. Selection was made by a scholarship committee designated by Maryland Farm Bureau.

Sophie Chance of Anne Arundel County Farm Bureau is a sophomore at North Carolina State University. She is studying Poultry Science, with a minor in Genetics.

Ryan Ross of Anne Arundel County Farm Bureau is studying Agricultural Business Management at the University of Maryland. Ross is currently a freshman.

Courtney Schrader of Cecil County Farm Bureau is a freshman at Salisbury University, studying Management and Communications.

Allison Stoner of Carroll County Farm Bureau will be an incoming freshman at Carroll County Community College this fall. She plans to study Early Childhood Education.

Lynne Thomas of Baltimore County Farm Bureau is a freshman at West Virginia University. She is majoring in Agricultural and Extension Education.

Emily Solis

Share This Article
Translate »