Author: Parker Welch

2022 Ag Ambassador Application Now Available

Parker Welch

Applications are now open for the 2022-2023 Maryland Farm Bureau Ambassador program, a scholarship and leadership development initiative for Maryland’s Farm Bureau member-families. After receiving entries from the county Farm Bureaus, the state Farm Bureau will choose one female and one male ambassador to represent Maryland Farm Bureau and the importance of agriculture’s role in the state from December 2022 – December 2023.

Winners will receive $1,500 over their tenure as the ambassador, representing Maryland Farm Bureau at such events as the Maryland State Fair and Day-in-Annapolis; reimbursements for public appearances; and an all-expense paid trip to the American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers & Ranchers Leadership conference in February.

Contestants must be between the ages of 17 and 21 (by Sept. 16, 2022), pursuing either a two- or four-year college degree. Each county Farm Bureau is eligible to nominate one female and one male nominee. Of those, a judging panel will evaluate contestants based on virtual interviews. From there, finalists will be called to take part in the final selection at Maryland Farm Bureau’s annual meeting on December 3 – 4. Contestants will share their prepared presentations and take part in a “Discussion Meet,” with the winner being announced at the annual meeting.

Please share this application with full details with any individual you feel would make a great representative for Maryland Farm Bureau. Student membership nominees are also welcome. Applications are due by 5:00 PM on September 16, 2022. Previous finalists are unable to compete.

Please contact Parker Welch, director of organization, for more information.

Maryland Farm Bureau Awards 2021 Scholarships

Maryland Farm Bureau Awards 2021 Scholarships

Maryland Farm Bureau is proud to announce the scholarships for 2021. Three scholarships were awarded to students pursuing academic degrees in food, agriculture and/or natural resources disciplines, and two scholarships were awarded to students pursuing degrees in other academic disciplines or are minoring in food, agriculture, and/or natural resources.

The five scholarships, each valued at $2,000, were awarded to Makenzie Hereth of Woodbine, Mackenize Ridenour of Hagerstown, Marissa Roberts of Taneytown, Courtney Schrader of Earleville, and Lynne Thomas of Fallston.

Applicants were required to write an essay answering the following question: The increasing frequency and intensity of natural disasters creates additional risk for farmers and ranchers. What tools and production practices can be engaged to reduce climate and weather risks?

Recipients or their parents/guardians are members of Maryland Farm Bureau. Selection was made by a scholarship committee designated by Maryland Farm Bureau.

Makenize Hereth of Howard County Farm Bureau is a freshman at Lincoln Land Community College in Springfield, IL. She is majoring in Agriculture Communications.

Mackenzie Ridenour of Washington County Farm Bureau is a freshman at Hagerstown Community College in Hagerstown, MD. She is majoring in Veterinarian Medicine.

Marissa Roberts of Carroll County Farm Bureau is a sophomore at Mount Saint Mary’s University in Emmitsburg, MD. She is majoring in Sports Management.

Courtney Schrader of Cecil County Farm Bureau is a sophomore at Salisbury University in Salisbury, MD. She is majoring in Business Management and Communications.

Lynne Thomas of Baltimore County Farm Bureau is a sophomore at West Virginia University in Morgantown, WV. She is majoring in Agricultural and Extension Education.

For more information about the scholarship program at Maryland Farm Bureau and within the county Farm Bureaus please visit

Virginia Farm Bureau Products Division

Maryland farmers, we’ve got you covered!

A new partnership with Virginia Farm Bureau Federation’s Products Division means Maryland Farm Bureau members’ farm and ranch supply needs are covered. From tillage parts and tractor tires, to grease, batteries and baler twine—your items are packed, shipped and delivered to your local dealer the next day.

A network of more than 250 Farm Bureau-approved regional dealers offers members the advantages of working with local businesses they know and trust to help with equipment installation.

Since 1965, VFBF’s Products Division inventory has covered the needs of agricultural producers and homeowners alike. Inventory also includes:

  • Rims and related supplies
  • Tarter® equipment including fencing supplies and cattle feeders
  • Oil and grease products
  • Ascenso, BKT, CEAT and Firestone tractor tires
  • Tires and inner tubes for cars, trucks, tractor trailers, ATV/UTVs, lawn/garden and trailers
  • LiquiTube® Tire Sealant
  • Crop packaging and net wrap
  • Tillage parts, plow parts, disc blades and much more!

With competitive prices and expanding inventory in its sprawling 53,000-square-foot Richmond warehouse, members in a six-state region, now including Maryland, can order their parts and supplies by phone or online.

Maryland Farm Bureau members can order now! Call 800-476-8473 or visit

St. Mary’s County Board of Directors

St. Mary's County Board Of Directors

John D. “Jay” Raley, IV, President

Joan Hill Bearden, Vice President

Lisa Bowen, SecretaryTreasurer


Thomas P. Trossbach  •  Joseph “Sonny” Trossbach 

Stanley Boothe  •  A. Merl Evans, Jr.

Matthew Norris  •  Gabrielle Cory Graham

Margaret Hill Beavan  •  Donnie Braun, Jr. 

Mackenzie Jones.  •  VACANT

Benjamin Lyons  •  Richard Hayden

Susan Vallandingham  •  Michael Van Ryswick

Christopher Cullins  •  Rita Weaver

Abigail Sivak  •  Women’s Leadership Committee

Charles Sasscer •  Young Farmer’s Committee

Allegany County Board of Directors

Allegany County Board Of Directors

Edward Robinette, Jr., President
(301) 478-2222  •

Ian Reikie, Vice President
(301) 707-0565 •

Grace Stonestreet, Secretary
(301) 707-8576 •

Georgene Mclaughlin, Treasurer
(301) 478-5548 •

Lindsay Stine, Regional Director
3358 Davidsonville Road • Davidsonville, MD 21035 • (240) 397-3568 (C) •


Hilda Miltenberger
Cathy Webb 
Lauren Wilson 
Guy Stonestreet
Robert Farrell 
Jennifer Northcraft 
Ian Reikie 
Carl Robinette

Dana Cessna  •  Women’s Leadership Committee

N/A  •  Young Farmer’s Committee

Translate »