Political Action Committee

The Maryland Farm Bureau Political Action Committee (PAC) is the legal method to raise funds, report donations and contribute to candidates seeking election to public office. The MFB PAC was established shortly after the 1998 Maryland General Assembly session to provide more farmer influence and support in future General Assembly’s. MFB believed that farmers should be able to join together to identify candidates who would support our industry and provide funding to help them get elected.

The MFB PAC is a “state” PAC and under the law can only give donations to candidates who are seeking election to a state-level office in Maryland. MFB PAC is independent of any political party or candidate and is specifically set up to have an equal representation in its governing body by Democrats and Republicans. The MFB PAC is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors. The Board members are elected by County Farm Bureau’s in each of the 6 Districts of Maryland Farm Bureau with 1 Democrat and 1 Republican from each District.

Funds are collected for the PAC through two methods. The largest fundraiser coincides with the Farm Bureau membership renewal process, where members are invited to donate $2 or more to the PAC when they pay their annual MFB dues. Other fundraisers include the sale of a lapel pin with a farm design on it during the MFB annual convention in December. Pins usually sell for $10 each.


$18 for 2018 PAC Fundraising Campaign


2018 Candidate Survey

Candidate Memo

2017 MFB PAC Board Members

Chairman, Michael Calkins

Vice Chairman, Bill Benson

Treasurer, Cathy Kaptain

Robert Ramsburg, Frederick County

Lonnie Luther, Montgomery County

Steve Walter, Charles County

Gilbert “BJ” Bowling, Charles County

Les Richardson, Baltimore County

Jonathan Quinn, Cecil County

Ed Heikes, Talbot County

Jennifer Debnam, Kent County

Alan Hudson, Worcester County

1 current vacancy – Western Maryland


Authority:  Cathy Kaptain, Treasurer